Briefly in English

 

Club info

Liikunnan Riemu was founded in 2005 by just a few enthusiastic students of the University of Jyväskylä. The first six years Riemu was known as a football team called FC Liikunta. You can read more about the history of FC Liikunta here.  In 2011 the club changed its name. Liikunnan Riemu was born and the club started expanding. In a short period of time Riemu has become the biggest and one of the most successful student sports clubs in Finland. Riemu has somewhere around 300 members, most of whom study in the Faculty of Sport and Health Sciences.

The name of the club, Liikunnan Riemu, can be roughly translated as ”Joy of Sport”. It has a double-meaning because it also refers to the Faculty of Sport and Health Sciences ( nicknamed ”Sport” by its students ). The name presents well the idea of the club. We want to enjoy sports and give the students the possibility to do what they want in the field of sports. Riemu has multiple sport sections and we also organize different kinds of events for our members like football and floorball tournaments, golf courses and expert lectures. Some of the events are open for all the students of the University of Jyväskylä.

Sections

Riemu has teams in fifteen different sports. The most successful has been the Futsal team which managed to advance from 3rd Division to the national Futsal League just in four years. Two years ago, in its premier season, the team finished sixth in the National League. Futsal team has also a second team which plays in the regional 2nd division. The Ice hockey team (nicknamed the Dogs) is a multiple Finnish Student Champion. The team plays in the 2nd division in the 2015-2016 season after nearly reaching promotion last year. The same goes for the Floorball team which now plays in the 3rd division. In football Riemu is the reigning Finnish Student Champion. The Football team has represented Finland in the European Student Championships in 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2015. Riemu also has a Volleyball team (2nd division) and a Table tennis team called “The Harrys”. For women there are teams in basketball (2nd division), volleyball, dancing, team gymnastics and futsal (2nd division).

Official Shield

Riemu_logo_847px

Contacts

Chairman: Niko Kauppinen, 040 770 1641 niko.p.kauppinen@student.jyu.fi

Club memberships: Sanna Pusa, 050 024 5493 sanna.k.pusa@student.jyu.fi

Marketing and sponsorships: Jussi Peltonen, 040 541 1651 jussiotto.peltonen@gmail.com
Jesse Kuusela, 050 370 3629 jesse.j.a.kuusela@student.jyu.fi

Events: Iiris Kolunsarka, 040 587 9232 iiris.a.kolunsarka@student.jyu.fi
Ella Launonen, 0400 690 027 ella.i.launonen@student.jyu.fi
Sanna Palomäki, 040 964 2224 sanna.e.palomaki@student.jyu.fi

Club merchandise: Olli Lehtonen, 0400 537 826 olli.j.lehtonen@student.jyu.fi
Pinja Harjunpää, 040 844 9126 pinja.e.harjunpaa@student.jyu.fi
Teemu Poussa, 050 370 1700 teemu.t.v.poussa@student.jyu.fi

Valmentajakahvit-lectures: Henri Pelkonen, 040 537 1449 henri.o.pelkonen@student.jyu.fi
Teemu Poussa, 050 370 1700 teemu.t.v.poussa@student.jyu.fi
Veera Sääski, 0400 738 495 veera.s.saaski@student.jyu.fi

Campuksen Koonto (dancing): Pinja Harjunpää, 040 844 9126 pinja.e.harjunpaa@student.jyu.fi

Futsal: Janne Rissanen, 050 556 6882 janne.t.rissanen@student.jyu.fi

Futsal W: Iiris Kolunsarka, 040 587 9232 iiris.a.kolunsarka@student.jyu.fi

Ice Hockey: Jesse Kuusela, 050 370 3629 jesse.j.a.kuusela@student.jyu.fi

Team Gymnastics: Ella Launonen, 0400 690 027 ella.i.launonen@student.jyu.fi

Basketball W: Sanna Palomäki, 040 964 2224 sanna.e.palomaki@student.jyu.fi

Basketball: Olli Lehtonen, 040 053 7826 olli.j.lehtonen@student.jyu.fi

Volleyball W: Heidi Tattinen, 040 513 8663 heidi.s.tattinen@student.jyu.fi

Table Tennis: Henri Pelkonen, 040 537 1449 henri.o.pelkonen@student.jyu.fi

Ice Cross: Markus Juola, 040 736 1897 markus.j.juola@student.jyu.fi

Football: Mikael Vähäsarja, 040 574 0629 mikael.j.vahasarja@student.jyu.fi

Wrestling: Miika Vauhkonen, 050 325 7818 miika.a.vauhkonen@student.jyu.fi

Volleyball: Pasi Hyvärinen, 0400 488 242 pasi.j.m.hyvarinen@student.jyu.fi

Baseball: Eero Kauppi, 040 718 5667 eero.m.kauppi@student.jyu.fi

Floorball: Juuso Laamanen, 050 409 9393 jupelaam@student.jyu.fi

Swimming: Mikko Alpola, 044 018 0058 mikko.m.alpola@student.jyu.fi