Briefly in English

 

Club info

The club took its first steps in 2005 when a few enthusiastic students created a football team called FC Liikunta. You can read more about the history of FC Liikunta here. Liikunnan Riemu was founded on the basis of FC Liikunta in 2011. The club started expanding with new sports and new teams. In a short period of time Riemu has become the biggest and the most successful student sports clubs in Finland. Riemu has somewhere around 300 members, most of whom study in the Faculty of Sport and Health Sciences.

The name of the club, Liikunnan Riemu, can be roughly translated as ”Joy of Sport”. It has a double-meaning because it also refers to the Faculty of Sport and Health Sciences ( nicknamed ”Sport” by its students ). The name presents well the idea of the club. We want to enjoy sports and give the students the possibility to do what they want in the field of sports. Riemu has multiple sport sections and we also organize different kinds of events for our members like football and floorball tournaments, golf courses and expert lectures. Some of the events are open for all the students of the University of Jyväskylä.

Sections

Riemu has teams in fifteen different sports. The most successful has been the Futsal team which managed to advance from 3rd Division to the national Futsal League just in four years. In 2014, in its premier season, the team finished sixth in the National League. Futsal team has also a second team in the regional 2nd division. The Ice hockey team (nicknamed the Dogs) is a multiple Finnish Student Champion. The team plays in a semi-professional league called Suomi-Sarja) which is the 3rd highest league in Finland. Nowadays there is also an amateur ice hockey team which plays in regional series.  In football Riemu is the reigning Finnish Student Champion. The Football team has represented Finland in the European Student Championships in 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 and 2017. Riemu also has a Table tennis team called “The Harrys”, a water polo team and an ice cross team. For women there are also several teams available in the club. Women’s futsal team advanced to Women’s Futsal League in 2017 and they have also a 2nd team. The other sports represented in women’s side are basketball (2nd division), volleyball, dancing, team gymnastics, figure skating and floorball.

Official Shield

Riemu_logo_847px

Contacts

 

Club officials

Chairman: Jani Laaksonen, +358 40 5494945 jani@laaksonen.in

Club memberships: Tommi Tuikkanen, +358 40 7645546 toanpetu@student.jyu.fi

Marketing and sponsorships: Jori Lagerblom, +358 44 5466029 jori.s.lagerblom@student.jyu.fi

Events: Laura Nurmi, +358 50 4358787 lavinurm@student.jyu.fi & Salla Moberg, +358 401737730 salla.moberg@gmail.com

Club merchandise: Heli Perkiö, +358 44 529420 heanperk@student.jyu.fi

Valmentajakahvit – expert lectures: Pauliina Muraja, +358 40 4135282 pauliinasss@hotmail.com

 

Teams

Campuksen Koonto (dancing): Veera Kauppila, +358 44 9723245 kauppilav@gmail.com

Futsal: Olli Annala, +358 50 3576366 oleehean@student.jyu.fi

Futsal W: Kati Nummelin, +358 40 0608679 kati.k.nummelin@student.jyu.fi

Ice Hockey: Henri Tikkanen, +358 40 8270446 hene.tikkanen@hotmail.com

Figure Skating: Viivi Koivumäki, +358 40 5438205 vialkoiv@student.jyu.fi

Team Gymnastics: Oona Mikala, +358 40 5694803 oona.mikala@gmail.com

Basketball W: Karla Karasti, +358 40 0399387 karla.a.e.karasti@student.jyu.fi

Basketball:  Mikael Mengüs, +358 40 0452037 mikaelmengus@gmail.com

Volleyball W: Linda Huhtala, +358 40 4161821 linda.k.huhtala@gmail.com

Table Tennis: Henri Pelkonen, +358 40 537 1449 henri.o.pelkonen@student.jyu.fi

Ice Cross: Jere Lehto, +358 50 590 9113 jerleh91@gmail.com

Football: Jani Laaksonen, +358 40 549 4945 jani@laaksonen.in

Volleyball: Jani Laaksonen, +358 40 549 4945 jani@laaksonen.in

Baseball: Teemu Kenkkilä, +358 40 846 3505 teemu.k.kenkkila@student.jyu.fi

Floorball: Samuli “Bull” Jurvelin, +358 44 282 8746 samuli.jurvelin@gmail.com

Floorball W: Paula Koponen, +358 40 5396197 paula.anneli.koponen@gmail.com

Water polo: Oula Heikkilä, +358 40 771 7954 oula.heikkila@jyu.fi