Briefly in English

 

Club info

The club took its first steps in 2005 when a few enthusiastic students created a football team called FC Liikunta. You can read more about the history of FC Liikunta here. Liikunnan Riemu was founded on the basis of FC Liikunta in 2011. The club started expanding with new sports and new teams. In a short period of time Riemu has become the biggest and the most successful student sports clubs in Finland. Riemu has somewhere around 300 members, most of whom study in the Faculty of Sport and Health Sciences.

The name of the club, Liikunnan Riemu, can be roughly translated as ”Joy of Sport”. It has a double-meaning because it also refers to the Faculty of Sport and Health Sciences ( nicknamed ”Sport” by its students ). The name presents well the idea of the club. We want to enjoy sports and give the students the possibility to do what they want in the field of sports. Riemu has multiple sport sections and we also organize different kinds of events for our members like football and floorball tournaments, golf courses and expert lectures. Some of the events are open for all the students of the University of Jyväskylä.

Sections

Riemu has teams in fifteen different sports. The most successful has been the Futsal team which managed to advance from 3rd Division to the national Futsal League just in four years. In 2014, in its premier season, the team finished sixth in the National League. Futsal team has also a second team in the regional 2nd division. The Ice hockey team (nicknamed the Dogs) is a multiple Finnish Student Champion. The team plays in a semi-professional league called Suomi-Sarja) which is the 3rd highest league in Finland. Nowadays there is also an amateur ice hockey team which plays in regional series.  In football Riemu is the reigning Finnish Student Champion. The Football team has represented Finland in the European Student Championships in 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 and 2017. Riemu also has a top-level Volleyball team (1st division), a Table tennis team called “The Harrys”, a water polo team and an ice cross team. For women there are also several teams available in the club. Women’s futsal team advanced to Women’s Futsal League in 2017 and they have also a 2nd team. The other sports represented in women’s side are basketball (2nd division), volleyball, dancing, team gymnastics, figure skating and floorball.

Official Shield

Riemu_logo_847px

Contacts

 

Club officials

Chairman: Jani Laaksonen, +358 40 549 4945 jani@laaksonen.in

Club memberships: Sanna Pusa sanna.k.pusa@student.jyu.fi

Marketing and sponsorships: Jori Lagerblom, +358 44 546 6029 jori.s.lagerblom@student.jyu.fi

Events: Krista Kyyrönen, +358 50 3416336 krista.m.kyyronen@student.jyu.fi

Club merchandise: Aleksi Nummelin, +358 44 529 0492 aleksi.j.nummelin@student.jyu.fi

Valmentajakahvit – expert lectures: Ilmari Eskola, +358 40 073 3950 ilmari.t.eskola@student.jyu.fi

 

Teams

Campuksen Koonto (dancing): Emilia Wård, +358 50 358 0722  emilia.a.ward@student.jyu.fi

Futsal: Heikki Puustinen, +358 40 5489 183 heikki.k.puustinen@student.jyu.fi

Futsal W: Ida Tuina, +358 40 564 7225 ida.k.tuina@student.jyu.fi

Ice Hockey: Teemu Suvinen, +358 44 070 7525 teemu.s.suvinen@student.jyu.fi

Figure Skating: Anna Nätkynmäki, +358 40 841 3344 anjunatk@student.jyu.fi

Team Gymnastics: Annika Lampinen, +358 44 555 2759 annika.lampinen@gmail.com

Basketball W: Laura Tuokko, +358 40 548 0465 lauratuokko@hotmail.com

Basketball:  Aleksi Nummelin, +358 44 529 0492 aleksi.j.nummelin@student.jyu.fi

Volleyball W: Veera Hiltunen, +358 40 706 9376  veera-hiltunen@hotmail.com

Table Tennis: Henri Pelkonen, +358 40 537 1449 henri.o.pelkonen@student.jyu.fi

Ice Cross: Jere Lehto, +358 50 590 9113 jerleh91@gmail.com

Football: Jani Laaksonen, +358 40 549 4945 jani@laaksonen.in

Volleyball: Jussi-Akseli Körkkö, +358 40 025 1965 aksu.korkko@gmail.com

Baseball: Teemu Kenkkilä, +358 40 846 3505 teemu.k.kenkkila@student.jyu.fi

Baseball W: Salli Mattila, salli.s.mattila@student.jyu.fi

Floorball: Samuli “Bull” Jurvelin, +358 44 282 8746 samuli.jurvelin@gmail.com

Floorball W: Tanja Raatikainen, +358 40 825 6639 raatikainentanja@gmail.com  

Water polo: Oula Heikkilä, +358 40 771 7954 oula.heikkila@jyu.fi