Briefly in English

 

Club info

The club took its first steps in 2005 when few enthusiastic students created a football team called FC Liikunta. You can read more about the history of FC Liikunta here. Liikunnan Riemu was founded on the basis of FC Liikunta in 2011. The club started expanding with new sports and new teams. In a short period of time Riemu has become the biggest and the most successful student sports clubs in Finland. Riemu has somewhere around 300 members, most of whom study in the Faculty of Sport and Health Sciences.

The name of the club, Liikunnan Riemu, can be roughly translated as ”Joy of Sport”. It has a double-meaning because it also refers to the Faculty of Sport and Health Sciences ( nicknamed ”Sport” by its students ). The name presents well the idea of the club. We want to enjoy sports and give the students the possibility to do what they want in the field of sports. Riemu has multiple sport sections and we also organize different kinds of events for our members like football and floorball tournaments, golf courses and expert lectures. Some of the events are open for all the students of the University of Jyväskylä.

Sections

Riemu has teams in fifteen different sports. The most successful has been the Futsal team which managed to advance from 3rd Division to the national Futsal League just in four years. In 2014, in its premier season, the team finished sixth in the National League. Futsal team has also a second team in the regional 2nd division. The Ice hockey team (nicknamed the Dogs) is a multiple Finnish Student Champion. The team plays in a semi-professional league called Suomi-Sarja) which is the 3rd highest league in Finland. In football Riemu is the reigning Finnish Student Champion. The Football team has represented Finland in the European Student Championships in 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2015. Riemu also has a top-level Volleyball team (1st division) and a Table tennis team called “The Harrys”. For women there are teams in basketball (2nd division), volleyball, dancing, team gymnastics and futsal (2nd division).

Official Shield

Riemu_logo_847px

Contacts

Chairman: Sanna Palomäki, 040 964 2224 sanna.e.palomaki@student.jyu.fi

Club memberships: Sanna Pusa sanna.k.pusa@student.jyu.fi

Marketing and sponsorships: Lennu Metsäranta lennu.v.metsaranta@student.jyu.fi
Jori Lagerblom jori.s.lagerblom@student.jyu.fi

Events: Iiris Kolunsarka, 040 587 9232 iiris.a.kolunsarka@student.jyu.fi
Ella Launonen, 0400 690 027 ella.i.launonen@student.jyu.fi
Sanna Palomäki, 040 964 2224 sanna.e.palomaki@student.jyu.fi

Club merchandise: Olli Lehtonen, 0400 537 826 olli.j.lehtonen@student.jyu.fi
Pinja Harjunpää, 040 844 9126 pinja.e.harjunpaa@student.jyu.fi
Teemu Poussa, 050 370 1700 teemu.t.v.poussa@student.jyu.fi

Valmentajakahvit-lectures: Henri Pelkonen, 040 537 1449 henri.o.pelkonen@student.jyu.fi
Teemu Poussa, 050 370 1700 teemu.t.v.poussa@student.jyu.fi
Veera Sääski, 0400 738 495 veera.s.saaski@student.jyu.fi

Campuksen Koonto (dancing): Pinja Harjunpää, 040 844 9126 pinja.e.harjunpaa@student.jyu.fi

Futsal: Janne Rissanen, 050 556 6882 janne.t.rissanen@student.jyu.fi

Futsal W: Iiris Kolunsarka, 040 587 9232 iiris.a.kolunsarka@student.jyu.fi

Ice Hockey: Jesse Kuusela, 050 370 3629 jesse.j.a.kuusela@student.jyu.fi

Team Gymnastics: Ella Launonen, 0400 690 027 ella.i.launonen@student.jyu.fi

Basketball W: Sanna Palomäki, 040 964 2224 sanna.e.palomaki@student.jyu.fi

Basketball: Olli Lehtonen, 040 053 7826 olli.j.lehtonen@student.jyu.fi

Volleyball W: Heidi Tattinen, 040 513 8663 heidi.s.tattinen@student.jyu.fi

Table Tennis: Henri Pelkonen, 040 537 1449 henri.o.pelkonen@student.jyu.fi

Ice Cross: Markus Juola, 040 736 1897 markus.j.juola@student.jyu.fi

Football: Mikael Vähäsarja, 040 574 0629 mikael.j.vahasarja@student.jyu.fi

Wrestling: Miika Vauhkonen, 050 325 7818 miika.a.vauhkonen@student.jyu.fi

Volleyball: Pasi Hyvärinen, 0400 488 242 pasi.j.m.hyvarinen@student.jyu.fi

Baseball: Eero Kauppi, 040 718 5667 eero.m.kauppi@student.jyu.fi

Floorball: Juuso Laamanen, 050 409 9393 jupelaam@student.jyu.fi

Swimming: Mikko Alpola, 044 018 0058 mikko.m.alpola@student.jyu.fi